I have got used to the daily emails from various banks telling me someone has accessed my account and I need to “click here” to correct it, even the begging letters from Africa – but this is a new one.
The subject on the email was “Expiring Registration” and it related to my domain name hoopergraphics.com – which incidentally is a my Portfolio as a Flash website.

So I checked with 123-reg, who I manage all my domains, and www.hoopergraphics.com was not due for renewal. So I assumed it was an email scam to get me to transfer my domain to them.
But I then went back and read the email properly – turns out it was for Search Engine Registration for 1 year! It does state I am under no obligation to pay the amount, it is not an invoice and it is just a courtesy reminder and they also provide a link to unsubscribe.
However I am not too happy about their warning, which states if I don’t pay the money people may find it difficult to locate me on search engines, and I am concerned that people may just click and pay up without realising what they are doing. Unethical search engine optimisation techniques I feel – I know some really good people based in Cornwall, so no way am I going to pay someone from America to do it!